Skip to content

Boosting mobile coverage at Heathcote

JMR with Minister for Regional Communications Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie

Residents and visitors to Heathcote are set to benefit from new and improved mobile coverage with new microcell technology being introduced through Round 5A of the Morrison Government’s Mobile Black Spot Program.

Senator for Victoria Sarah Henderson said improving mobile blackspots is a key priority for the Morrison Government with $20.5 million committed to fund 67 new mobile base stations across Australia in this round of funding.

“The Heathcote upgrade will provide improved mobile coverage for the local community, allowing visitors and locals alike to stay better connected, access education services, conduct business and remain in contact with family and friends,” Senator Henderson said.

“Addressing mobile coverage is key to ensuring people across regional Victoria remain safe, particularly in emergencies like devastating fire events.”

Minister for Regionalisation, Regional Communications and Regional Education, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie said this announcement brings the total number of base stations being funded under our Mobile Black Spot Program to over 1,270 base stations, representing a total investment of over $875 million.

“These base stations will improve coverage in disaster prone areas, along major transport corridors and trial new approaches to delivering coverage,” Minister McKenzie said.

“The 67 base stations funded under Round 5A across regional and remote Australia will collectively deliver over 12,000 square kilometres of new and improved handheld coverage. The Government is committed continuing to work with industry and state and local governments to improve mobile coverage and connectivity across Australia.”

Minister McKenzie said a key priority of Round 5A is to test new approaches to supporting improved mobile coverage.

“The Liberals and Nationals Government encourage mobile network operators to deploy shared mobile infrastructure to reduce cost and provide new coverage from more than one carrier,” Minister McKenzie said.

“‘Round 5A includes funding for a trial solution of seven base stations from Thargomindah to Waihora in Queensland, including at East Thargo, Dynevor Downs, Bulloo, Paroo and Eulo that will allow all mobile network operators to provide services.”

“Access to 21st century communications is an essential service for all Australians no matter where they live”, Minister McKenzie said.

The full list of base stations funded under Round 5A of the MBSP is available on the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications website.

23 July 2021

Share this