23 December 2014

Students recognised by Corangamite Medal

Over the past two weeks, I have been very pleased to present the Corangamite Medal to students in some 26 schools across the Corangamite electorate.

The Corangamite Medal is a new annual award I have initiated which recognises outstanding citizenship in students.

The award is presented to one primary and one secondary student in each participating school who demonstrates a high standard in attitude and achievement; a full commitment to the ethos of the school and an awareness of others and their needs.

The Corangamite Medal also recognises an exceptional student who makes a positive contribution to his or her school community over a number of years.

Celebrating the achievements of young people and encouraging the leaders of tomorrow is so important.

One primary and one secondary school winner of the Corangamite Medal will be selected to travel to Canberra for a “Leaders of Tomorrow” visit to Parliament House.

I have been delighted with how well the Corangamite Medal has been received across a diverse range of schools.

2014 Corangamite Medal recipients:

Name School
Patrick Beale Alvie Consolidated School
Hannah Vella Barwon Heads Primary School
Ethan James Barwon Valley School
Jeremy Dalli Barwon Valley School
Jayne Fendyk Bellarine Secondary College
Hannah Ridley Belmont High School
Luke Gittings Birregurra Primary School
Jessie Mitterbacher Ceres Primary School
Conor Killury Clairvaux Catholic School
Cody Fennell  Colac Secondary College

Claire Mac Donald Forrest Primary School
Lachlan Solly Grovedale College
Jessica Guley Grovedale West Primary School
Ella Morris Highton Primary School
Jessie Christiaans Matthew Flinders Girls Secondary College
Maddie Lundy Montpellier Primary School
Lachie Gemmill Mount Duneed Regional Primary School 
Danielle Butler Oberon High School 
Felvia Francis Oberon Primary School
Jo Hall Point Lonsdale Primary School
Emma Ristovski Roslyn Primary School
Shannon Tierney Sacred Heart College
Mason Kent  Teesdale Primary School
Steven Pople Surf Coast Secondary College
Hannah Branson Torquay College
Piper Morrissy Wallington Primary School
Izabella Sheridan  Woady Yaloak Primary SchoolRoss Creek campus
Cameron Grant Woady Yaloak Primary SchoolScarsdale campus
Kasey Bishop  Woady Yaloak Primary SchoolSmythesdale campus
Connor Palmer  Woady Yaloak Primary SchoolSnake Valley campus

23 December 2014