By 2017, NBN fast broadband will be either active or under construction to around 70,000 premises across Corangamite.  Please note that proposed active dates, as advised by NBN Co, are indicative only and are subject to change.

Corangamite electorate NBN fixed line rollout

  • Anglesea: now active
  • Aireys Inlet: proposed active date March 2018.
  • Apollo Bay, Marengo: now active
  • Bannockburn: now active
  • Barwon Heads: now active
  • Belmont, Grovedale, Highton, Marshall, Wandana Heights, Waurn Ponds: construction is underway with proposed active date in late December or January 2018
  • Colac, Colac East, Colac West, Elliminyt: now active
  • Jan Juc, Torquay, Bells Beach: now active
  • Lorne: now active
  • Ocean Grove: now active
  • Point Lonsdale and Queenscliff: now active
  • Winchelsea: now active

Corio electorate NBN fixed line rollout

  • Clifton Springs, Curlewis, Drysdale, Indented Head, Portarlington, parts of Leopold and Moolap now active
  • Bell Park, Bell Post Hill, Breakwater, Drumcondra, East Geelong, Geelong, Geelong West, Hamlyn Heights, Herne Hill,
    Manifold Heights, Newtown, North Geelong, South Geelong, Thomson.
  • Avalon, Corio, Lara, Lovely Banks, Norlane, North Shore: the full rollout of the NBN across Geelong is expected to be complete by the end of 2018.

NBN fixed wireless rollout in Corangamite/Corio

  • Apollo Bay (outskirts) and Skenes Creek: build comences 2017
  • Barongarook: now active
  • Beeac: now active
  • Beech Forest: now active
  • Birregurra: now active
  • Colac West (outskirts): now active
  • Cororooke: now active
  • Cressy East: now active
  • Forrest: now active
  • Gellibrand: now active
  • Swan Marsh: now active
  • Warncoort West: now active
  • Warrion Hill: now active
  • Build to commence in Bellbrae, Ceres, Drysdale, Gherang, Leopold, Marcus Hill, Moolap, Moriac, Mt Duneed, Mt Duneed North, Torquay East, Wallington in 2017
  • Build to commence in Batesford, Bell Post Hill, Gnarwarre, Inverleigh, Lara, Lethbridge, Little River, Little River South, Lovely Banks, Meredith, Mt Cottrell, Teesdale, Werribee in 2017.
  • Cape Clear, Dereel, Linton, Rokewood, Ross Creek and Smythesdale: active

New NBN ‘Skymuster’ satellite now active

Eligible Corangamite residents in remote areas will be able to switch on to a faster satellite service, with NBN Co’s Sky Muster satellite now ready for activation. The NBN satellite service is designed to provide a fast and reliable NBN service to those outside of the fixed line and fixed wireless footprint.

In October last year the NBN Sky Muster satellite was launched – and was active as at 29 April 2016. The wholesale speed options that will be available to internet service providers via the new satellite service are 12Mbps download with a 1Mbps upload, or 25Mbps download with 5Mbps upload. The 25Mbps (wholesale) download option is designed to revolutionise fast broadband for rural and remote Australians. Data allowances of up to 150GB per month will also be available.

Several retail service providers have released their plans, and are accepting pre-registrations. Further information is available at 

New base stations to fix mobile black spots

After committing to fund four new base stations prior to the 2016 federal election, I am delighted to confirm that the Turnbll Goverment is in the process of putting out to tender the construction of new base stations for Aireys Inlet, Anglesea, Bellbrae and Birregurra. This is part of a further $60m commitment to the Mobile Black Spot Programme, in addition to the $160m in funding previously announced.

Four new mobile base stations were recently announced for Lorne South, Separation Creek, Kennett River and Horden Vale.

In 2015, ten new base stations were announced for Corangamite at Apollo Bay, Barongarook, Barwon Downs, Cape Otway, Carlisle River, Dereel, Gellibrand, Kawarren, Steiglitz and Yeodene. St Leonards in the Corio electorate will also receive a base station.

As a result of this investment, 115 of the 141 mobile blacks pots nominated in Corangamite will be addressed by handheld or external antenna coverage. The rollout timetable is below.

  • 2016: Carlisle River (now active)
  • 2017: Apollo Bay, Gellibrand (now active) Yeodene (now active), Barongarook (now active), Kawarren (now active), Steiglitz, Horden Vale (now active)
  • 2018: Dereel (January), Barwon Downs, Separation Creek, Kennett River

Notwithstanding, I am advocating very hard that the rollout be fast tracked particularly in areas of high fire danger.